Winners for 2017/18 “Clan of the Year” Announced, Five Clans Awarded Honours

The “Clan of the Year Award” 2017/18 and 2nd “SFCCA Outstanding Youth Award” ceremony cum dinner, organised by the Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations (SFCCA), was held at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel. The awardees were announced, and 13 out of 31 member organisations competing for the awards emerged victorious, receiving awards from Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Trade and Industry & Ministry of Education Mr Chee Hong Tat.

Entering its 7th year, this year’s “Clan of the Year Award” was the most widely awarded edition. As more and more clan associations are showing outstanding performance in various aspects in recent years, besides the five team awards, three more “Encouragement Awards”were also added in recognition of their efforts.

The winners of the “Clan of the Year Award” are the Singapore Eng Teng Association, the Singapore Char Yong Association, the Singapore Lam Ann Association, the Singapore Chin Kang Huay Kuan, and the Singapore Bukit Panjang Hokkien Konghuay. The winners managed to break the stereotype that clan associations are dull and boring, by going to the community through schools, grassroots organisations and/or art organisations during their anniversary celebrations. They promoted traditional culture, donated to charity groups or promoted arts and culture, which was well received by the jury.

“Clan of the Year Award” winners with the Guest-of-Honour, from left to right: Singapore Lam Ann Association Vice-President Mr Lee Jia Hong, Singapore Chin Kang Huay Kuan President Mr Pok Cheng Chong, Singapore Bukit Panjang Hokkien Konghuay Vice-President Mr Soh Wen Tong, jury chairman Professor Eddie Kuo, Guest-of-honour Senior Minister of State Chee Hong Tat, SFCCA President Tan Aik Hock, Singapore Char Yong Association President Ho Siong Hin, and Singapore Eng Teng Association President Chan Sen Meng

In addition, the Nanyang Fang Shee Association, Jiangsu Association (Singapore), the Singapore Amoy Association, Yen Leng Goh Clan, and Teochew Poit Ip Huay Kuan were awarded the “Special Award for Excellence”. From launching courses to publicising classical ancient works, bringing creativity into activities, and actively promoting public welfare activities, these clan associations made were remarkable at organising events and community services. The organiser also awarded the “Encouragement Award” for the first time, to the Kowloon Club Singapore, the Singapore Choo Clan Association and the Singapore Teo Chew Federation, in recognition of their outstanding work in caring for vulnerable groups and promoting traditional culture.

“Special Award for Excellence” winners received their trophies from Senior Minister of State Mr Chee Hong Tat (fourth from right), left to right: Yen Leng Goh Clan President Mr Woo Chee Chay, Teochew Poit Ip Huay Kuan President Mr Chan Kian Kuan, Singapore Amoy Association President Mr Lin Xilai, jury chairman Professor Eddie Kuo, SFCCA President Tan Aik Hock, Nanyang Fang Shee Association Fang Yongquan, Jiangsu Association President Zhou Yaocheng

“Encouragement Award” winners with the guest-of-honour, from left to right: Singapore Choo Clan Association President Mr Zhu Yaoqun, Teo Chew Federation President Mr Lin Guoyou, Senior Minister of State Mr Chee Hong Tat, SFCCA President Tan Aik Hock, Kowloon Club President Mr Chan Man Ping

Three Rising Stars Discovered in the Second “SFCCA Outstanding Youth Award”

The “SFCCA Outstanding Youth Award” was also presented at the ceremony. Wen Weixiong from Chung Shan Association (Singapore), Ng Ziyang from the Huang Clan, and Huang Liang from the Teochew Poit Ip Huay Kuan left a deep impression on the jury by displaying positive traditional values, darning to think bold and creatively, as well as by making good use of technology.

After Huang Liang from the Teochew Poit Ip Huay Kuan (first from left), Ng Ziyang from the Huang Clan (second from left), and Wen Weixiong from Chung Shan Association (Singapore) (first from right) were awarded the “Outstanding Youth Award”, they took a picture with SFCCA Treasurer and youth award jury chairman Mr Ng Siew Quan (third from left), Senior Minister of State Mr Chee Hong Tat (fourth from left), SFCCA President Mr Tan Aik Hock (second from right)

In his speech, Senior Minister of State Mr Chee Hong Tat mentioned that traditions and new trends need not always be at odds with each other, as a combination of the two can stimulate creativity and create innovative practices, and provide motivation for progress. He believes that some clan associations have already carried out drastic reforms, and their management model has kept pace with the times.

SFCCA President Mr Tan Aik Hock also encouraged the clan associations to continue to keep pace with the times, improve their management systems, regularly update association regulations, adjust financial management, improve operation content, uphold the selfless spirit of ancestors, and safeguard the reputation of Chinese societal associations. He also suggested that everyone should actively preserve historical materials of clan associations, in order to better pass on traditions to the next generation.

SFCCA established the “Clan of the Year Award” in 2011 to encourage clan associations to promote Chinese culture and actively explore new opportunities. Over the years, it has received enthusiastic response from all SFCCA member groups. SFCCA has awarded close to 70  “Clan of the Year Award” and “Special Award for Excellence”. In 2016, SFCCA established the “SFCCA Outstanding Youth Award” to expand the scope of the awards, commend young people who have made outstanding achievements in clan associations, and to discover more rising stars for the Chinese society.