The response to the “2013 Clan of the Year Award” has been enthusiastic, with up to 39 member associations applying. As in the past, the participating clan associations have shown great performance and made outstanding contributions in promoting national development and societal progress. The winners were chosen after rounds of heated discussion among the jury, and were awarded “Outstanding Clan” and “Excellent Clan” awards. This year, the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan, Kong Chow Wuik Koon, Singapore Leong Khay Huay Kuan, Singapore Lam Ann Association and the Gan Clan attained the “Outstanding Clan” award. Five clan associations attained the “Excellent Clan” award: Ann Kway Association, Eng Teng Association, the Bukit Timah Hainanese Club, Kim Mui Hoey Kuan and the Singapore Amoy Association.

Mdm Sim Ann, Minister of State for Ministry of Education and Ministry of Communications and Information, was the guest of honour for the award ceremony.

First row, from left to right: 卢鹤龄 (Former Kong Chow Wuik Koon Chairman), Lin Dengli (Singapore Amoy Association Chairman), 严承慧 (Bukit Timah Hainanese Club Chairman), 蔡其生  (1st Vice Chairman of Kim Mui Hoey Kuan), Annie Gan Giok Em (Gan Clan Vice Chairman), Tan Aik Hock (Singapore Lam Ann Association Executive Chairman); 

Second row, from left to right: Chan Sen Meng (Eng Teng Association Chairman), Low Kok Hua (Ann Kway Association Executive Chairman), 高允璋  (Singapore Leong Khay Huay Kuan Vice Chairman), 白南泉 (Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan Education Committee Director)